We didn’t just live in a neighborhood, we lived in community. I never knew that I wanted to live in community or really, needed to.

I like to think it’s a little Leave It to Beaver, when they called neighbors “friends”, when they baked cookies for the new family next door and had pot lucks. I’d forgotten how important community is, but I’m bringing it back, starting in my neighborhood.

Check out Tiffany Larson’s 40 Simple Ways to Build Community in Your Neighborhood. Coming from an urban area, many of these activities may seem corny or impractical. However, we must push past our comfort zone in order to build trust and create the community we want to see.

Complete article @ SimpleMom.net

Leave a Reply

About missdanijackson

I am a woman of the people

Category

Uncategorized

Tags

, , ,