The Work is Internal

In this moment of quietness
I become one with my breath
Learning to listen
Finding new depths

–  Dani Jackson 12/31/17

Today is the last day of 2017 and as we head into a new year I am reminded that I am my best work. No makeup, hairdo, car, home or any material gain can reflect my wealth in comparison to my internal health. As the African proverb says, “When there is no enemy within, the enemy outside can do you no harm.”

When I was in high school, the church that I attended recommended that everyone have quiet time in the morning, which consisted of getting up early to read my Bible, pray and write in my journal. Now, two-weeks away from 34, my personal time in the morning has expanded to include meditation and lectures that range from Sadhguru to Oprah and Deepak Chopra but the premise is still the same.

Being happy is a very personal thing and it really has nothing to do with anyone else.  – Abraham Hicks

The work that we do internally lasts eternally because we are connecting to the essence of life, the creator, the universe. In gratitude, we are reflecting on the good in our lives and allowing that gratitude to nourish our mind, body, and spirit for the present. Although challenging times will come, when we do the work internally we are more prepared to face and conquer our challenges. You owe this time to yourself before you check social media, read an email watch the news and engage with the world.

Check out Tony Robbin’s morning routine, which he calls priming via Business Insider.

Here is a list of people that jumpstart my day.
Sadhguru
Tony Robbins
Les Brown
Abraham Hicks
T.D Jakes
Deepak & Oprah Meditation
Wayne Dyer
Zig Ziglar
Law of Attraction Coaching (Youtube)
Be Inspired (Youtube)

Note. I listen to positive and thought-provoking lectures, podcasts and audiobooks throughout the day as well. Here are a few of my more self-care focused favorites:

Black Girls In Om (BGIO)
The Alchemist
Ted Talks
Oprah’s Super Soul Sessions
Wayne Dyer: Excuses Be Gone
Deepak Chopra: The 7 Spiritual Laws of Success
The Rock Newman Show
Napoleon Hill: Outwitting the Devil

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑